Wednesday, September 13, 2006

Drake SigEp launches $800,000 capital campaign

The Sigma Phi Epsilon chapter at Drake University (Iowa Delta) has recently launched an $800,000 capital campaign to pay for house renovations of its Residential Learning Community (RLC). This campaign comes after the fraternity recently purchased the residence at 1243 34th St. in Des Moines, Iowa.

Some of the renovation items to be addressed include increasing the housing capacity from 29 men to 36, installing a fire sprinkler system throughout the house, renovating all bathrooms, updating all flooring, upgrading all electrical wiring, adding air conditioning to the second floor and purchasing a new boiler.

Progress of the capital campaign is viewable via the chapter’s website. Current pledges toward the campaign total $268,000. This total is generously complimented by one anonymous donor of $100,000. The current pledges are 33 percent of the chapter’s goal.

Donors to the campaign are recognized by the amount that they donate. The category of “Legends of Iowa Delta” is for donors that give more than $100,000 to the cause. Members of the “Red Door Leadership Society,” are recognized for their gifts between $50,000 and $99,999. Alumnus Stephen Coolidge Nellis 64’ is recognized as being in the "Red Door Leadership Society."

"Legacy Society" members E. Dean Swartzwelter 61’ and William Andrew Wright 69’ are recognized for their gifts between $25,000 and $49,999. The "34th Street Society" honors donors whose donations total between $10,000 and $24,999. Brothers Edward Franklin Owman 53’ and Gary D. Orway 64’ are currently recognized with "34th Street Society" honors.

SigEp alumnus John Richard Bauer 63’ is a member of the "Red & Purple Society" that honors those men who have given between $6,000 and $9,999. The "Golden Heart Society," represented by Gerald Ramey Anderson 58’, Blaine Robert Carter 98’, Harold William Higgs 49’, Scott Alan Loitz 91’, Larry C. Martindale 63’, Rodney Ellsworth Rhoads 57’, Chad Hastings Swyres 93’, and Christopher M. Trunkey 88’, honors members who have donated between $3,000 and $5,999.

"RLC Society" donors William J. Crawford 63’ and Tony Lorino 03’ are recognized for their donations of $1,500 - $2,999.

Iowa Delta was named an RLC in 2003. Since then the chapter has continued to lead the fraternities at Drake University in manpower and academic performance. A member of SigEp has also been student body president or vice president for the past three years. The chapter has also been honored with two Buchanan Cups, the highest award given by the national fraternity.

Anyone wishing to donate to the Iowa Delta capital campaign or request more information can contact alumni board member Tony Lorino at

Technorati tags: , , ,
Powered By Blogger